Tamil Nadu Premier League: Final match washed out due to rain, CSG and LKK became joint winners

Rain washed out the final match

On Sunday (August 31), the final match of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2022 was washed out due to rain and remained inconclusive. As a result, the title-playing Chepauk Super Gillies (CSG) and Laika Kovai Kings (LKK) were declared joint winners.

Let us tell you that this is the fourth title of Super Gillies, on the other hand Kovai Kings has become the winner for the first time.

Meanwhile, let’s take a look at the key figures of the tournament.

Statement of account

In this way the final got rained
The match was reduced to 17–17 overs due to rain, with Kovai Kings playing first to score 138/9. Sai Sudarshan scored the highest 65 runs for Kovai Kings.

In reply, when the Super Gillies had lost two wickets for 14 runs in four overs and were in trouble, then it started raining again.

After this, the teams were declared joint winners in case the game was not possible due to rain.


Most runs scored by these batsmen
Sanjay Yadav of Nellai Royal Kings was the highest run-scorer in this season of TNPL. He scored 452 runs in nine matches at an average of 90.40 and a strike rate of 186.77.

Suresh Kumar of Lyca Kovai Kings scored 398 runs in 10 matches. He hit three half-centuries with the highest score of 83*.

Baba Aparajith of Nellai Royal Kings scored 396 runs at an average of 56.57.

These bowlers took the most wickets
Abhishek Tanwar of Kovai Kings was the most successful bowler of this season. He took 17 wickets in nine matches at an average of 14.12 and economy rate of 7.09 and played a key role in making his team joint winners.

Kiran Akash of Madurai Panthers took 12 wickets.

On the other hand, Sai Kishore of Super Gillies took 11 wickets in six matches at an economy rate of around six. At the same time, Shahrukh Khan also took 11 wickets.


Other records made this season
This season of TNPL also saw three centuries. Sanjay, the highest run-scorer, Arun Karthik of Madurai Panthers and Murali Vijay of Ruby Trichy Warriors scored a century each.

Sanjay also hit the most sixes (40) and most fifties (5) in this season. At the same time, Suresh Kumar (41) hit the most fours.

Sai Kishore bowled the most maiden overs (3) in the bowling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.