Chess Olympiad: India’s men’s and women’s team both won two bronze medals

Men’s B team won bronze by defeating Germany

Men’s B and women’s A teams won bronze medals in the 44th Chess Olympiad held in Chennai.

The men’s B team consisted of Nihal Sareen, D Gukesh, R Pragnananda and Raunak Sadhwani. This team won the bronze medal by defeating Germany.

On the other hand, the women’s B team finished third after losing against America. The team consisted of Vaishali, Koneru Humpy, Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkari.

Gukesh and Nihal won gold

Gukesh and Nihal won gold medals in individual events. Gukesh topped the board first in the open section with a score of 9/11 and a performance rating of 2867. His compatriot Nihal was second best on the board with a performance rating of 2774.

Such were the open A, B and C teams

India’s Open Team (Men’s) A consisted of Srinath Narayanan, Harikrishna Pentala, Vidit Santosh Gujrati, Arigasi Arjun, SL Narayanan and Shashikiran Krishnan.

Open Team B consisted of Nihal Sarin, Gukesh D, Adhiban B, R Pragnananda and Sadavani R.

Whereas Surya Shekhar Ganguly, Karthikeyan Murali, SP Sethuraman, Abhijit Gupta and Abhimanyu Puranik participated in Open Team C.

Women’s Teams A, B and C Teams

Women’s team A consisted of Koneru Humpy, Harika Dronavalli, Vaishali R, Taniya Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni.

Women’s team B consisted of Vantika A, Soumya S, Mary Ann Gomes, Padmini Raut and Divya Deshmukh.

Meanwhile, the women’s team C consisted of Isha Karavade, M Varshini Sahitya, Pratyusha Bodda, PV Nandidha and Varsha Vasnawala.

Important things related to Chess Olympiad

A total of 1,400 players from 187 countries competed on 700 boards at the Mamallapuram Resort and Convention Center’s Four Points.

The Olympiad has an 11-round Swiss format where teams from two countries (four players and one reserve) compete on four respective boards.

Uzbekistan won the championship in the open category (men’s category) of the Olympiad held on Tuesday.

On the other hand, war-ravaged Ukraine won the gold medal in the women’s section.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.