Jammu-Kashmir: Election preparations begin in Jammu and Kashmir, voters list to be published on November 25

Jammu-Kashmir News: Preparations for elections have started in Jammu and Kashmir. Election Commission of India Jammu and Kashmir The new last date for publication of voter list has been fixed on November 25. The commission said that youths who have completed 18 years of age on or before October 1 will be eligible to become voters in the union territory.

Voter list was to be published on October 31

before this, Election Commission 31 October was set as the deadline for publication of the final electoral rolls in Jammu and Kashmir, where special summary revision is being done after a gap of three years and after the number of Assembly seats in the delimitation has been re-fixed. This is the first exercise of its kind.

Publication of integrated draft voter list on 15th September

According to the new deadline set by the Election Commission, a unified draft voter list will be published on September 15. The period for filing claims and objections has been fixed from September 15 to October 25, after which the claims and objections will be settled on November 10.

Printing of material will be done by November 19

The office of the Chief Electoral Officer, quoting the order issued by the Election Commission, said that before the publication of the final electoral roll on November 25, the work of updating the database, obtaining the permission of the Commission for the final publication and printing of the supplementary material on November 19, date has been set.

There will be 6 additional assembly seats in Jammu

The central government had issued a notification in May, in which it was said that the order of the Delimitation Commission will come into effect from May 20. The Delimitation Commission, while re-fixing the number of constituencies in the Union Territory, had made provision for 6 additional assembly seats for Jammu division and one additional seat for Kashmir division.

There will be 90 assembly constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir

As per the orders of the Delimitation Commission set up under the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act 2019, the Union Territory will have 90 assembly constituencies. Of these, there will be 43 assembly seats in the Jammu division and 47 in the Kashmir Valley. Out of these, 9 seats will be reserved for Scheduled Tribes (SC).

Assembly elections after amendment in voter list: Manoj Sinha

Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha had assured that the assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir would be held after the completion of the ongoing revision of the voter list. However, political observers believe that the much-awaited elections may be postponed till next year once the severe cold in the Kashmir Valley and Chenab region is over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.